Sex with Minors

Our Child Sex Abuse Attorneys Have Served Stamford Families for Over 30 Years

As a parent, you may be distressed to find out your child has been engaging in sexual activity with an adult or another minor. Even if your child has done so consensually, you may still have legal recourse and a viable case, depending on the circumstances.

For more than 3 decades our team at TJC ESQ has served families and children who have been harmed through sex crimes, and we are familiar with Connecticut laws regarding consent and age limits. We provide peace of mind for minors and parents in the wake of confusing sexual matters, and our experienced sexual abuse lawyers can provide you and your family with trustworthy, authoritative legal counsel you can depend on during this difficult time.

Contact us to schedule your free case evaluation with one of our attorneys today.

Statutory Rape Laws in Connecticut

It is illegal to engage in sexual activity with someone who cannot provide consent. Since minors are deemed incapable of consenting to sex, it is therefore illegal for anyone age 18 or older to engage in sexual activity with someone under the age of 16, regardless of whether a minor invites such activity.

In Connecticut, restrictions and penalties for statutory rape vary according to the ages of those involved. Anyone who has a sexual encounter with a minor and does not meet the requirements for aggravated assault or forcible rape may be subject to the following consequences:

  • Class A Felony: Intercourse between a child age 12 or younger and someone who is 14 or older is considered sexual assault in the first degree. This can result in a maximum of $20K in fines and 25 years behind bars.
  • Class B Felony: Intercourse between a child age 14 or 15 and a person who is more than 16 or 17 years old (respectively) is considered sexual assault in the second degree. This can result in a maximum of $15K in fines and 20 years in prison.
  • Class D Felony: These are reserved for persons of any age (including minors and adults) who have non-penetrating sexual contact with a child age 14 or younger. This can result in a maximum of $5K in fines and 5 years in prison.

(For all intents and purposes, “intercourse” can be defined as penetration of a sexual nature, to any degree, and with any body part or object.)

You may not be able to make a case for statutory rape if your child willingly engaged in sexual activity with someone close to their own age, thanks to so-called “Romeo and Juliet” laws. In other states, it could complicate things if your child deliberately mislead the other party by claiming to be older than they were at the time. However, the state of Connecticut does not make exceptions for the older party in such cases.

How Do I Know if I Have a Case for Statutory Rape?

You may be able to take legal action against the adult or other minor in question if the circumstances warrant statutory rape charges. Contacting an experienced child sex abuse lawyer in Stamford is the best thing you can do upon discovering your child has been engaging in sexual activity (consensually or non-consensually) with an adult or other minor. At TJC ESQ, we have the answers you need to move forward with confidence.

We also handle cases involving:

Call (888) 633-6669 today to speak to a child sex abuse attorney in Stamford, CT.